La Chica en Mis Sueños (The Girl in My Dreams) by Tumiso Tidimane

When I was 13 years old I moved from an apartment to a house my parents built. It was the first time I ever moved. I didn’t even know what the true meaning of move meant. I thought it just meant that I had to spend the night at a friend’s house and go back home the next day. I didn’t know what to expect. After all I was just a 13 year old boy who just liked to play soccer outside. I was nervous, it was really my first time. You could call me a virgin mover. As my parents packed everything up I just stood on the corner with my soccer ball watching them pack and thinking what are they doing, why are they packing up all our stuff. The next day we settled into our new house and unpacked everything. My mom was so happy, she had a big smile on her face. And my little brother was playing with his bayblade toys outside. Everyone was happy except me. I was the new kid in the block so I had no one to talk to. I had no friends. Once in a while I would always sit outside and stare at the clouds passing by. It just felt natural to sit alone outside under a tree and look at the light blue clouds changing shapes each time. That was how it felt moving to a new house I thought to myself until one day my eyes gazed upon the most beautiful girl who lived a few blocks from my house. Her face shined bright like the sun. And her smile was something I couldn’t describe. It shined even brighter than anything else. She was amazing just the way she was. I froze for a few minutes and came back to life. “Wow who is she” I said to myself. It was like God sent down an angel from heaven. And she was an angel I wanted by my side. I walked over to talk to her> I took slow steps because I was nervous. She made me nervous. My heart skipped a beat on each step. Next thing you know I couldn’t do it. I couldn’t continue the walk that would let me talk to her. I was scared, well I prefer to say nervous. The way she was took my breath away. I couldn’t say anything. I really couldn’t so I decided to forget about her. The next day I came out of the house and I saw her dancing outside with her friends. It was like watching a princess dance. She was beyond amazing. I still couldn’t believe I lived right next to this girl. It felt as though I had her in my heart the whole time. It’s like I have known her for a long time. I just wanted one chance to talk to her. A few days passed and I finally made a few friends in the neighborhood. My Four friends were Ty, Shane, Ryan and Jessica who was the best friend to the girl I liked. I would always play soccer with Ty, Shane and Ryan. And I would jump rope with Jessica. You could say we were the best of friends. I was no longer lonely. The clouds that were passing by each day now became brighter. I had finally made friends I could actually call my friends but one thing or one person was missing, La chica en mis sueños.  And she was the girl next door. She was the girl that took my words away. The only words that were lfet in my mind were Te quiero (I like you) and they couldn’t even come out. My friends always told me I would meet a girl who took my breath away but I didn’t think it would happen well until I met her. Now she definitely got me thinking about her every night. A few months had passed and I had gained some confidence so I went over and talked to her. The first thing I said was “Hi my name is Efren and I think, well I know that you are the most beautiful girl I have ever laid my eyes on”. After a few seconds her cheeks turned red and she smiled so hard. My face was surprised. Her smile up close was really amazing. Before she even responded I got close to her and told her “I have been waiting to do this for a long time”. I touched her face and slowly pressed my lips against hers and kissed her. It was like I was high above the clouds. It was like a dream. The girl I liked so much had the same feelings I had. A face as bright as the sun, a smile I couldn’t describe and eyes the color of the sky. Would you believe me if I said I was in love? Everyone always asks what love is, well to me she was love. She really was the true meaning of love. La Chica en mis sueños era ahora la chica de mis sueños (the girl in my dreams was now the girl of my dreams).

One thought on “La Chica en Mis Sueños (The Girl in My Dreams) by Tumiso Tidimane

  1. Pingback: Vote for Your Favorite Short Romance Story!! | dc3library

Leave a Reply

